Top 5 Albums of 2012

When I decided to choose what I felt were the best five album released this past year, I thought it would be difficult. I thought I’d have to comb through a shitload of music and narrow it down repeatedly until I found the five best. But I was wrong. It was easy. I had bit of a struggle with number five (my final choice only narrowly edged out two other pretty awesome albums), but other than that, it was simple. In my opinion, the albums I’ve chosen blew away the competition. And not by a small margin.

Obviously, I realize people have different musical taste. Honestly, it would surprise me if many (or any) of you saw things the way I do. But for my money, the following five albums were the best releases of 2012.
***************
5. Adrenaline Mob – Omertà

Excellent first release for Adrenaline Mob. There aren’t any tracks on this album that I skip over when I’m listening to it. I think it got a bit of a bad turn because it was more rock than metal, but I didn’t find it to be an issue. I don’t really give a shit what genre music is considered to be. If it’s good, it’s good, and this album is good.

Top three tracks: Indifferent, All on the Line, and Angel Sky.

4. Overkill – The Electric Age

Not much to say here. Awesome thrash album. Overkill is a brutal band. They’ve been killing it for over thirty years and this is just another great example of that.

Top three tracks: Wish You Were Dead, All Over but the Shouting, and Black Daze.

3. Three Days Grace – Transit of Venus

At first, I wasn’t a big fan of this album. It wasn’t what I was expecting from them, and that sort of put me off it. But I came around pretty quickly. This is their best album. They tried some new shit, and in my opinion, it worked well. It’s a really solid effort, and just like with Adrenaline Mob’s Omertà there aren’t any songs I skip over.

Top three tracks: Operate, The High Road, and Expectations.

2. Testament – Dark Roots of Earth

This was by far the best thrash album of the year. It really reminded me of their earliest efforts, but bigger. It’s just a really solid thrash metal album. You can look at a metric shit-ton of other bands from the 80s that have changed their sound with the time, and arguably suffered for it. Testament hasn’t, and their shit just keeps getting better and better. Buy this album.

Top three tracks: Rise Up, True American Hate, and Throne of Thorns.

1. Stone Sour – House of Gold & Bones – Part 1

Stone Sour is one of the best bands out there, and this album is another piece of evidence that supports that. There are style shifts with nearly every song, but it’s not jarring at all. The whole album is a masterpiece, and you should listen to it. That’s really all I can say. Buy this album, and listen to it on repeat. It’s fucking awesome. And there will be another one next year.

Top three tracks: Last of the Real, Absolute Zero, and Tired.
***************
Honourable mention goes to Soundgarden’s King Animal and Kreator’s Phantom Antichrist.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

